webinar register page

Webinar banner
Journal of Supply Chain Management Methods Series (Asia Pacific)
"Conducting research involving vulnerable persons: how context, sensitivities, identity, and informant voice should inform your methodology"

Day/Time: 7 September, 10am AEST (or 6 September, 8pm EST/5pm PST)

Panelists: Marie Segrave (Monash University), Hari Bapuji (Melbourne University), Ajnesh Prasad (Royal Roads University)
Moderators: Dayna Simpson (Monash Business School) and Vikram Bhakoo (University of Melbourne)

Research involving persons that are vulnerable – for example exploited, migrant, or undocumented workers; and/or groups marginalized because of caste, class, ethnicity, gender, indigeneity, and race – is not often found in the operations and supply chain management domain. Such workers and/or groups, however, frequently intersect with supply chains and contribute significantly to labor, and occasionally possess business ownership in supply chains. As such, vulnerability should be considered in our research designs, and appropriately factored into research problems that involve workers in OM/SCM. Vulnerability should inform how we design our research, which informants we speak to, how we speak with them, and how we understand our data. For example, workers' marginalization affects what they reveal to us. In this session, three scholars will discuss their experiences with research involving workers that are vulnerable for different reasons, and what this means for the research process. We will also discuss some of the complexities around vulnerability and how this may affect publishing in management journals.

Sep 7, 2021 10:00 AM in Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Dayna Simpson.