webinar register page

Webinar banner
This webinar is for users with a Zoom account. New to Zoom? Sign up free.
COVID-19 and Violent Extremism: Gender Perspectives
The ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has posed an unprecedented crisis internationally. Though focus is often placed on government response, the pandemic has also allowed for violent extremist groups to both leverage and capitalise off the effects of COVID-19 which impacts both women and men differently. We have seen such organisations respond to the virus by ramping up online propaganda messages, spreading conspiracies and engaging in misinformation campaigns in an attempt to foster perceptions of inefficiency and mistrust in government. In some countries, non-state armed groups have adopted state-like functions by providing social welfare services and enforcing lockdowns vis-à-vis the state. This event is part of a series co-hosted with: Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security, the LSE Centre for Women, Peace and Security, the PRIO Centre on Gender, Peace and Security and the Women, Peace and Security Institute in the Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre.

This webinar is taking place at 10:00-11:30pm AEST (8:00-9:30am EDT, 12:00-1:30pm GMT, 1:00-2:30pm BST/WAT, 2:00-3:30pm CEST, 8:00-9:30pm SGT).

Jun 3, 2020 10:00 PM in Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Alexandra Phelan.